Home PageNewsAugust 2022 - 08/202260th WMC Aeronautical Pentathlon - Tikkakoski (FIN) - Update 3

60th WMC Aeronautical Pentathlon - Tikkakoski (FIN) - Update 3




TIKKAKOSKI (FIN) - The final day of competition at the 60th World Military Aeronautical Pentathlon Championship was held yesterday in Tikkakoski, Finland, with two events on the program. Everything was still to play for before the Obstacle Run and Orienteering competitions and several athletes could still claim the supreme title.

The day started with the women's Obstacle Run. Ukrainian Yelyzaveta Zenova, who had already finished first in the Fencing competition, was the fastest and won the race in 01:58.9, more than a few seconds ahead of Ecuadorian Laura Quintero (02:04.1). The Brazilian Ellen Caroline de Souza, who was very consistent in the first four races, took the third place in 02:12,0.


MAP logo 2022 transparent


Yelyzaveta Zenova and Ellen Caroline de Souza were neck and neck going into the last event and both athletes were in position to win gold.

Thanks to her second place in orientation (0:51:10), the Brazilian Ellen Caroline de Souza secured her first place in the overall ranking and thus won the military world title at the end of a competition mastered from start to finish!



Lithuanian Vaiva Pėstininkė, winner of the orienteering race in 0:38:44, took advantage of this superb performance to overtake Ukrainian Yelyzaveta Zenova, seventh in the orienteering, who finished with the bronze medal.

Finally, the Finnish Heini Pelto took the third position in the orienteering event.

Ellen Caroline de Souza and her teammates Mayara Soares Da Silva and Andressa Midori Nishigawa Silva even gave the Brazilian delegation a second gold medal with their title in the women's team event. Brazil is ahead of Lithuania and Ecuador, who won silver and bronze medals respectively.



In the men's event, the day started in the best way for the Ukrainian delegation. Indeed, Vadym Rum won the Obstacle Run competition (01:42.1) ahead of Ecuador's Victor Carrasco (01:42.7). Ukrainian Dmitriy Kmetjuk finished third (01:43.3) and this performance virtually assured him of the overall title with a lead of almost a thousand points over his closest pursuers before the last event.

Despite an eleventh place in the last event, the orientation, Dmitriy Kmetjuk became the new military world champion of the discipline with a total of 5561 points, succeeding the Spanish Eduardo Carrillo, winner of the 2021 edition.


20220823 0I2A9919

Finland finished the championship with three athletes on the podium of this orienteering event with the first place of Kari-Jussi Korhonen (1:01:05) who finished ahead of Lauri Lappalainen (1:01:27) and Lauri Ikonen (1:03:35).

In the overall ranking, Finnish Lauri Ikonen finished second (4880 points) while Spaniard Eduardo Carrillo had to settle for a very nice bronze medal (4564 points).



Dmitriy Kmetjuk and the Ukrainians Mykhailo Bezuhlyi, Vadym Rud and Dmytro Yerema win the world military team title thanks to superb individual performances, ahead of Finland and Brazil.

Once the competitions were over, the delegations attended a superb Awarding Ceremony and the Closing Ceremony of the event which took place in the presence of the Chiefs of Mission of the participating Delegations, high local authorities and the Patron of the 60th World Military Aeronautical Pentathlon Championship, Major General Juha-Pekka Keränen, Commander of the Finnish Air Force.



The sun set yesterday over Tikkakoski and the WMC Aeronautical Pentathlon came to an end, which will be remembered by all participants. We witnessed some very high level performances, with a new world record set, thanks to the magnificent competition conditions provided by the Finnish delegation who did everything possible to ensure that our military athletes could perform at their best.

Thank you Tikkakoski and see you soon for this major event in the CISM sports calendar!







All the results are available here !


(Source: CISM Media & Communication Department - Pictures and videos: Finnish Delegation to CISM)